It has been years since I last ate my mom’s braised pork belly. I missed this food so much. I can hardly find a place in Melbourne which sells this dish. Most of them only have braised beef. So I decided to make my own. This is a popular dish in Taiwan. There are many versions for this dish, some people like it dark, while my family prefer a light color.

IMGP2615

Here is my version of the recipe, hope you enjoy it.

Ingredients:-

  • ­ 500g pork belly – cut into cubes
  • ­ Chinese mushroom – soak and cut into cubes
  • ­ Boiled egg (peeled)
  • ­ 2 tbsp oil
  • ­ Minced garlic
  • ­ 4-5 slices of ginger
  • ­ Shallots & spring onion
  • ­ 1 tsp five spice powder (or can be replaced with star anise, cinnamon, nutmeg and cardamom pods)
  • ­ ½ cup of Shaoxing wine
  • ­ 1/3 cup of light soya sauce (if you like dark colour, you can use mixture of dark and light soya sauce)
  • ­ 1 tbsp peanut butter (smooth)
  • ­ 2 tbsp white sugar

Directions:-

  1. Boil diced pork belly until half cooked, drained and set aside
  2. Heat 2 tbsp oil and stir fry minced garlic, ginger until garlic slightly brown and fragrant
  3. Add 2 tbsp white sugar , heat up with low fire until sugar melt and turn into light brown caramel. Be careful not to burn the sugar as it may create bitter taste..
  4. Add the half cooked pork belly, chinese mushroom, egg
  5. Add five spice powder, shaoxing wine, soya sauce, peanut butter, and add water to cover all ingredients
  6. Bring to boil, and simmer for an hour.
