The once a year Buddha’s festival was here in Melbourne. As usual, the festival was held on weekends at Federation Square. It was intended to celebrate Buddha’s birthday, which is today. The exact date varies because the birth date is calculated based on lunar calendar.

I was born in a Buddhist family, but grew up learning a little bit of Buddhism and Christianity.

I went to Buddha’s festival on Saturday for the vegetarian food. I am not a vegetarian, but I do love vegetarian food.

The festival was pretty much the same like last year. Just in case you have not been to one, I will walk you through the Buddha’s festival for you. It was not a very big event, but it was fun, at least for me.

IMGP2573

A week or two before the Buddha’s festival, you will probably see the banner in Melbourne CBD. This one was taken at Federation Square.

IMGP2567

In the above pictures, you may see leaves and lotus flower. They are not real one. All those in the pictures were wishes from people who attended the festival. I spoke to the person who looked after this, he mentioned that al these will be kept approximately 2-3 years. After that, they will create a tree with all these. I do not know exactly how, but I think it is a great idea. I did not write my wish this year, but I did last year. This was a close up of one of the wishes. The sentence in Chinese 世界和平 means world peace.

IMGP1024

 

IMGP1021

After writing my wish, I went to the bathing Buddha section. You normally would have to queue up to bathe the Buddha.

IMGP2570

Along the Yarra river, there will be a lot of food stalls. All the foods they sold were vegetarian foods, but they were good.

IMGP2576

IMGP2577

Next to one of the food stalls, you can find this wheel, you have to pay to play the game. I did not recall seeing this wheel in last year’s festival.

Missed it? Don’t you worry, just make sure you attend the coming year Buddha’s festival.

