I had always thought driving in Melbourne was way easier than that in my hometown, Medan Indonesia. In my hometown, traffic is always congested and drivers like to overtake another car although it is not safe to overtake. Besides, the distance between one car and another is so close in my hometown. This is my perception when I first came to Melbourne.

I had not changed my perception until I took driving classes in Melbourne. The driving itself is easy, but the difficult part is to know the maximum speed you should drive in each street. In build up area, your speed limit is 50km/hr. In this zone, you must drive approximately 45km/hr to 50km/hr. In other zone, the speed limit is 60km/hr while at school times, 8am-6pm, the speed limit can be 40km/hr.

When my mom taught me how to drive in Medan, I had always been cautious of the cars next to mine. They can hit our car anytime. In here, you still have to worry about this, but you will be more worried about the speed limits, hook turn area, traffic signs, etc. We have a really good security in place such as speed cameras. So you really have to keep an eye on your speed if you do not want to be fined.

Maybe it is a challenge in the beginning. Once I know the speed limit for the streets I travelled most, I might not find it challenging anymore.

