Every Saturday morning, I normally go to Victoria Market (aka Vicmark) to get my weekly groceries. As usual, I went to Vicmark this morning, I look around for a good bargain while brainstorming what to cook. And I saw Ossobuco, so I decide to cook Ossobuco soup for lunch. For those of you who are wondering what is Ossobuco, Osso in Italian means bone while buco in Italian means hole.

Cooking

Ingredients:-

  • 4 ossobuco
  • 250g of potatoes
  • 150g of carrots
  • 1.5 tomatoes (diced)
  • 1 brown onion (optional)
  • 2 star anise
  • 1 nutmeg
  • 1 tsp white whole pepper
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 5 stalks of spring onion
  • coriander
  • salt
  • fried shallots
  • fried garlic

Directions:-

  1. Rinse and cut your ossobuco, remove the fat when you cut it.
  2. Bring your ossobuco to boil, filter the oil (I do not like my soup to be oily, plus it is healthier too)
  3. While waiting, cut potato, carrot, tomato, brown onion, spring onion and coriander
  4. Once the oil has been filtered, add in brown onion, star anise, cinnamon stick, nutmeg and white whole pepper
  5. Add half of the spring onion, coriander into the soup
  6. Simmer the soup for about 1.5 hours. You can use pressure cooker if you have one.
  7. Then add in potatoes, carrots, tomatoes
  8. Simmer again until the meat is tender
  9. Add salt (to taste), garnish with fried shallots, fried garlic and the leftover of spring onion and coriander.

I did not add tomatoes into my soup, because I could not find good tomatoes in Vicmark today. This soup base (without adding potatoes, carrots and tomatoes) can also be used as the soup for Vietnamese noodle soup (pho).

